My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Beans, Beans The Magical Fruit

Leave a comment

I love saving money, and I want to help you save money too. Check out what this blogger’s doing. She’s making her own yummy foods with beans and sharing how much she saved by doing it herself!

Modest Marie's Frugal Living

Beans, beans the magical fruit

The more you eat, the more you toot

The more you toot, the better you feel

We should have beans for every meal!

Beans

I love dried beans.

They are cheap to buy, easy to grow, a great source of fiber, have a really long shelf life and are a very tasty way to fill your belly!

Lately, I have been trying to have some sort of bean-based meal every week.

I call it The Bean Challenge!   

Two weeks ago, I made Bean and Sausage Soup.

Last week, I made homemade Refried Beans.  Yum!

This week I’m going to try Black Bean Burgers.

Black Beans

This is my recipe:

Prepare 1 lb of beans according to package directions.  Remember the save the soak water for your plants!

Take 1/2 of the beans and mash them. (Keep the rest of the beans for another meal)

Add 1/2…

View original post 87 more words

Author: Laurie Nguyen

I am a happily married, stay at home mom with four sons, ages 24, 22, 18, and 14. I'm not a professional blogger, and I'm certainly not a foodie or a chef. But I like food, so I think I'm qualified to write about my own life experience with food. Want to be a little more prepared for the unexpected? Check out my Food Storage Blog, http://forayintofoodstorage.com. Have a question about Food Storage? Email me: forayintofoodstorage@gmail.com.

Question? Comment? Please share with me!

